Although the Harvard Trade Union Program (HTUP) began in 1942, it was not until 1985 when NSO President John Warms secured three seats to attend the HTUP, that NSO members began attending HTUP.  In 1989, NSO members Thomas L. Adams, Jr. of New Hampshire ESA and Paul Nelson attended the HTUP at their own cost.  They had a wonderful experience and wrote the NSO Executive Committee a letter urging them to provide scholarships to future NSO members to attend the program.

At the 1992 NSO-Representative Assembly, President John Warms announced the passing of Chip Tassone, AFSE member, who was remembered for his service to NSO as an advocate and organizer.  In his honor, the first HTUP scholarship was named in his memory.  Between 1993 and 1995, the NSO Executive Committee developed the criteria for the Chip Tassone scholarship with Regional Director, John Reily (Massachusetts) describing the criteria at the 1995 NSO-RA as, “reserved for associate staff or women or minorities or organizers who do not get the opportunity for participation through employer training funds.”

Two half-time scholarships for professional staff were also created in memory of Chuck Leberknight, an Executive Committee member from Ohio PSU, and John Warms of New Jersey, long-time President of NSO. 

Harvard Trade Program Description, Criteria, and Grant Agreement

Past Scholarship Recipients:

2020Karen “Skip” PerryNew Jersey EA-USA
2019Sharon Alston
Jolene Barrow
Michigan ASO
California SO
2018Kelley Clouser
Mike Prehoda
Pennsylvania SEA-SO
Illinois EA-SO
2017Kristy Baker
Mark DeWeerdt
Jess Lima
Alaska ASO
California SO
California ASO
2016Craig CarterKentucky EASO
2015Barbara Hartzell
Roberta James
2014Michelle WashingtonCalifornia SO
2013Shaunta Bailey
Charmaine Champagne
Helen O’Connell
Ohio ASU
Colorado EASO
California SO
2012Mark Fredericks
Scarlett Reibold
Oregon EAASO  
2009Ruth IvoryFlorida SO
2008Dawn Basurto
Brad Darjean
California ASO
Louisiana SSO
2007Joy Beckwith
Dean Chandler
Bill Dungey
2006Patty Ray Basizhore
Tom Jowhar
Ohio ASU
Ohio PSU
2004Connie Civerenos
Calvin Fairbanks
Sue Vento
Kentucky EASO
2003Len Feldman
Jim Shepard
2002Marty Kahn
Marsha Meekins
2001Renita Bates
Tom Suhrbur
Florida SO
Illinois EASO
2000Noma Bong
Bob Willoughby
Maryanne Zimmerman
Arizona EASO
New Jersey
1999Pat TurnerOhio PSU
1997Ramone Romero
Barb Suhrbur
1996Deb Hilmoe-Jurgens
Bob Kulp
Han-il Lee
Maryland AFSE
1995Malcolm Staples
Liz Tokar
1994Steve Lenkin
Eva Schleigh
New Mexico-NSO
New Hampshire SO
1993Diane Bellard
Bob Cherry
Betty Dalton
Pat Johnson
1991Garfield Bright
Peter Toggerson